Decolonizing Architecture Advanced Studies is a series of postmaster courses, public seminars, field studies, publications, and discursive exhibitions that together form a platform for education and research at the Royal Institute of Art in Stockholm. The courses are led by Alessandro Petti, Professor in Architecture and Social Justice and Marie-Louise Richards, lecturer in Architecture, with contributions by guests, among them Walter Mignolo, Joar Nango, Rahel Shawl, Ana Naomi de Sousa, Luca Capuano, Jorge Otero-Pailos, Madina Tlostanova, Eyal Weizman, Emilio Distretti, Mia Fuller, Stefan Jonsson, Shahram Khosravi, Peter Lang, Santiago Mostyn, Corina Oprea and Mekonnen Tesfahuney.

This web platform hosts individual, and collective on-going research projects developed within the framework of the course, Decolonizing Architecture. During the course participants are invited to search and share concepts that emerge from lived experiences and grounded in communities and sites. These concepts, anchored in practice, form a common vocabulary that create the theoretical reference for actions, interventions and guiding principles for research projects. This pedagogical approach is exemplified in the book “Permanent temporariness”, where seventeen site specific research projects are activated by fourteen different concepts: Al masha/Common, Borders, Camp, Confession, Decolonization, Exile, Heritage, Madafeh/Hospitality, Mujawaara/Neighboring, Participant, Profanation, Representation, Returns, Tawtin/Normalization.

Web Platform

Web platform coordinator: Tatiana Pinto; Proof-reading: Matthew Ashton and Hannah Clarkson; Design and management: Diego Segatto.

Contributors to the web platform: Roberta Burchardt, Tatiana Pinto, Husam Abusalem, Nadia El Hakim, Rado Istok, Ilaria Lombardo, Carlota Mir, Fernanda Ruiz, Bert Stoffels, Victoria Van Kan, Mouna Abdelkadous, Makda Embaie, Marie Therese Luger, Mauro Sirotnjak, Soroor Notash, Eva Strocholcova, Cherine Hussein, Ying Sun, Didem Yildirim Boström, Rodrigo Nicolas Albornoz, Nefeli Makrynikola, Hannah Clarkson, Marco Cechet, Meryem Saadi, Pauli Rikaniemi, Olivia Berkowicz, Mark Romei, Molly Sjögren, Konstantina Pappa, Matilda Tucker, Milagros Bedoya.